National Novel Writing Month

After much debating on whether I’m completely mad, I’ve decided to take part in the National Novel Writing Month challenge, more of which can be found here @ http://www.nanowrimo.org/ This means there will probably be less poetry for a while, but this is an exciting new project for me. I’ve always wanted to write a book and now here’s my chance. Who knows if it will be readable by the end of the month, but I’m hoping to gain a lot from the experience as well as have some fun.

I have a brief outline for a YA fantasy novel, a title and have had a bit of fun designing a book cover (ever hopeful!)

My brief synopsis:

The Sleep Stealers

Amelia Fox is not like any other young woman in her small village. She is full of spirit and can dream walk in her sleep. However, she longs to find freedom from the constraints of being a respectable vicars daughter, but darker forces are at work, coinciding with the arrival of the gypsies. She starts ‘seeing’ things in her sleep and huge black birds appear, circling over the vicarage. The desire to flee grows stronger as her father begins his descent into madness. She must find out what is happening but the clock is ticking. Her father is close to death and the ravens are gathering.

My opening:

I felt the chill of the wind as soon as I opened the door. It cut right through me, sweeping down across the valley, blowing the leaves off the autumn trees. A pair of crows battled against it before dropping out of sight.

10 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month

  1. Can’t wait to read what you write Louise ~ hope it all goes well. Love the beginning & love your cover ~ & you have such a wonderful way with words I can imagine you writing a stunning novel. 🙂

    • Ah…thank you SO much, Peter…you’re support means a lot to me. I’ll give it my best and hope I’ll have something I can play with at the end of the month. A dream of mine this is.. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Am I Ready to Write?
  3. Very exciting! I’m very envious, Lou. Must finish my Autobiog before I even think of it (so that rules it out altogether) 😉

  4. It sounds very interesting already and the cover looks great! I absolutely volunteer my reading abilities, Louise, and wish you an immense amount of luck and midnight nerves and hugs when you need it. Q x

    • Thanks so much, Quirina…you have been so supportive & I’m really grateful. I will certainly ask you to read if you would like, that’s extremely kind of you…but maybe when & if I have something readable….probably not at the end of November 😉 but maybe later (I hope) 🙂 x

  5. So, come on then, how did it go ? Is there a novel – could you please take my sleep stealers away from me in the process of writing the book 🙂

    • lol..Hi Steve. Sadly, no book as yet…it’s going to take me more than a month!! But I’m still writing it (slowly) though focusing on a poetry collection at the moment. Hope things are good with you. Thanks so much for swinging by 🙂

  6. Pingback: National Novel Writing Month | Supernatural Suspense

Leave a comment