At the Library

Enveloped in this library, I feel a silent benediction, this quiet womb space that seems to bend and curve and wrap itself around me. I turn a page, stare briefly out at a dark sky, the staggered light of autumn pulling at the edges of myself and gravity. Loud voices interrupt – children home from school, their hopes and fears and dreams mingling with the air where word and synapse intersect; this book opened at just the right place, on the page I missed before, this living being of material fold and neuron, whole galaxies with their yellow moons. So much not yet understood. I read on, the words I can glowing in my head.

above
the streetlights
soft scatter of stars

10 thoughts on “At the Library

      • Thanks Louise it’s coming along fine but will only be released as an ePub for the Apple Books reader app due to its content of music video and narration as well as my haiku! It’ll be free though 😃

      • Hi Louise. Well I’ve almost finished (barring tweaks and I’d like to add more a bit more poetry reading). But I will gladly send you a Proof Copy via Mail Drop or Google Drive if you’d like to get an advance copy. I don’t seem to have an email address for you though so if you could send that on I will get a copy to you in the next few days. Thanks for your encouragement and support. Cheers. Clive

  1. That’s fantastic and I certainly will. It’s in two parts – I’m about half way through formatting the second part. Barring any unforeseen events I hope to have it finished before Christmas 🥰

Leave a comment